MIND’S EYE: “Darkly Wise” Out By Arkeyn Steel Records


Melodic/lyrical US metallers MIND’S EYE from Orlando, Florida inked a deal with Arkeyn Steel Records in order to re-release two rare tapes, “The Witching Hour” (Demo, 1991) and “Darkly Wise” (LP/Tape, 1992), for the very first time on CD, with a fat 16-page UV glossy booklet, featuring original fantasy “Darkly Wise” cover, unpublished vintage photos, detailed band story and lyrics.

Arkeyn Steel Records came in contact with Chuck McMenamin (guitars) and finally releases for the very first time both tapes on CD. “Darkly Wise” will include “Darkly Wise” (LP/Tape, 1992) and “The Witching Hour” (Demo 1991), totalling 16 tracks and over 75 minutes of melodic US metal.

All songs have been remastered by Kostas Scandalis (WARDRUM, HORIZONS END) at Infinity Studios and will be presented on a great deluxe jewel CD package,

1. Arrival
2. October Queen
3. Within the Mind’s Eye
4. Storm Rising
5. Endless Rain
6. So Long (My Love)
7. Kill Aphrodite
8. What I Can’t See
9. Fallen Trees
10. Master of the Game
11. Darkly Wise
12. Shadowplay/Unveiled
13. Curtains Will Fall
14. The Witching Hour
15. Deus Ex Machina
16. The Intruder
1-11: Darkly Wise (LP-Tape 1992)
12-16: The Witching Hour (Demo 1991)

MIND’S EYE Biography:

In 1989, four high school friends from Orlando, FL came together to form a band, based on their mutual love of melodic metal acts such as IRON MAIDEN, QUEENSRYCHE & FATES WARNING. After years of Friday night practices in the living room of guitarist Chuck McMenamin parents, the band had a cache of original songs ready to go. With lyrics penned by guitarist Dave Borkman and drummer Bryan Shultz, blazing riffs from Bryan, Dave and Chuck and pounding bass laid down by MIND’S EYE, they set out looking for a vocalist by placing an ad in Orlando’s JAM magazine. The call was answered by Sterling Walker, and they moved out of the living room and into a warehouse to begin perfecting their sound with their new vocalist.

1991 MIND’S EYE released 500 copies of “The Witching Hour” demo tape and when the first run sold out quickly enough that another 500 cassettes had been placed by the end of that year. In early 1992, the band entered Signature Sound Studios in Orlando, FL, to record “Darkly Wise”, their first full length album, containing 11 songs. 500 cassette tapes, along with t-shirts and hats were released on October 31st, 1992 to promote the album.