British progressive metal band MONUMENTS will release its long-awaited third album, “Phronesis”, on October 5 via Century Media Records.

“The word ‘Phronesis’ was a big part of society and philosophy in ancient Greece”, explains MONUMENTS. “Phronesis is wisdom, but a really specific type of wisdom to do with oneself. Wisdom on your practical actions, good judgement, being excellent in character, practical wisdom. Learning what to do and what not to do based on experience, being mindful of everything around you. Something that, at times, all of us can be pretty terrible at.”

After touring the world heavily in support of its “The Amanuensis” album (2014), the intercontinental quintet needed to take a break and catch a breath for multiple reasons. However, the band kept working on “Phronesis”.

“My personal relationship with the meaning of the record starts at ‘Stygian Blue’, which was the second song I wrote for this back in 2015, and it came to be while I was in the darkest place I’ve ever been in my 32 years”, says guitarist John Browne. “We all had a bunch of issues that needed time to let heal so, in between writing we were, you know, fixing our broken souls.”

Writing about topics that would be troubling their minds acted as a catharsis though, so “Phronesis” works as a turning point of the progressive metal band on many levels. The independently produced album was finally recorded between March and July of 2018 in various studios throughout the world: while guitars and bass were recorded by Jim Pinder (BULLET FOR MY VALENTINEMACHINE HEADWHILE SHE SLEEPS) at Treehouse Studios in Derbyshire, U.K., the drums were played, recorded, tracked and engineered by Anup Sastry(ex-SKYHARBOR). Chris Barretto recorded his vocals with Cristian Machado (ILL NIŇOLEEWAY) at Soundwars Studios in New Jersey, then everything was mixed and mastered by Joel Wanasek at JTW Music in Milwaukee, Wisconsin.

“Phronesis” is available as standard CD jewelcase, gatefold LP+CD and digital album.

The track listing reads as follows:

01. A.W.O.L.
02. Hollow King
03. Vanta
04. Mirror Image
05. Ivory
06. Stygian Blue
07. Leviathan
08. Celeste
09. Jukai
10. The Watch

Don’t miss seeing MONUMENTS at Euroblast festival in Cologne, which will be the first show where the band play band new songs from “Phronesis”.

A full European tour will be announced shortly.


Chris Barretto – Vocals
John Browne – Guitar
Olly Steele – Guitar
Adam Swan – Bass
Daniel “Lango” Lang – Drums