Battleroar - Codex Epicus

BATTLEROAR - Codex Epicus

Label: Cruz Del Sur
Released Year: 2018
Type: Full-length


  1. Awakening the Muse
  2. We Shall Conquer
  3. Sword of the Flame
  4. Chronicles of Might
  5. The Doom of Medusa
  6. Palace of the Martyrs
  7. Kings of Old
  8. Enchanting Threnody
  9. Stronghold (CD bonus track)

If there’s one band out there that has every right to the Greek Epic Metal throne, that’s definitely BATTLEROAR. Started nearly twenty years ago, the band was primarily responsible for putting the Greek Epic Metal scene on the global map, with shows and collaborations that far exceeded their country’s borders. The most profound of these moments have definitely been the countless shows with US legends MANILLA ROAD, and getting [probably] one of the most iconic vocalists of the underground European scene to join their ranks.

BATTLEROAR are back with their fifth, long-awaited album called “Codex Epicus”, a follow up to 2014’s “Blood of Legends”, and all those familiar with the band should know what to expect: solemn, mid-tempo songs purely made of epic/doomy riffage, pompous choruses and melodies full of lyricism. The band has grown a lot throughout the years, and their “raw” and eager style of the earlier days has given its place to a much more dark and mature sound. Influences from bands such as MANILLA ROAD, BATHORY, PRIMORDIAL, CANDLEMASS, MANOWAR & BOLT THROWER are prevalent throughout the album, with the band making an excellent job in mingling them all together to produce its signature sound.

“Codex Epicus” is the second album with mr Mutz behind the mic and I have to say he sounds better and much more fitting compared to the previous one. These four years seem to have allowed the band more time to work together during the writing process. Having one band member living in a remote location is always challenging, but BATTLEROAR seem to know how to make things work, given the band’s previous frontman Marco Concoreggi (DEXTER WARD) was also living abroad [in Italy].

The album consists of eight songs [+ one bonus track for the CD version] and has a total running time of 54 minutes. As in “Age of Chaos”, we also get to see Mark Shelton making a guest appearance in “Sword of the Flame”, amplifying the mystical aura of the song with his emblematic voice. An outstanding moment is definitely “Enchanting Threnody” (threnody = funeral song), a song that starts with a slow, weeping clarinet melody (a clear reference to the Greek folk tradition of the North) only to grow into a Bathory-esque opus, spanning for over seven minutes. Other notable moments are “Chronicles of Might” (did you get that MANOWAR-esque vibe as well?) and “Kings of Old”, but don’t rely on any reviewer to tell you about them. Music is something more than one man’s opinion.

Summing up, “Codex Epicus” seems to be the right step after “Blood of Legends” and definitely lived up to the expectation its cover set when the news of its release broke out.