ICED EARTH: Jon Schaffer Reunites With Purgatory To Release EP [Video]


The first ICED EARTH line-up has teamed up under their original name from 1985, PURGATORY, to record five tracks that were written between 1985 and 1987, now to be released as the “Purgatory” EP on December 21st as limited digipak CD, limited LP (with 180 gram vinyl, 4-page inlay and etching) and digitally. The first track, “Dracula” has already been released on YouTube for your listening pleasure.

You may watch it bellow:

The album is set to to recapture that classic sound and even features the singer Gene Adams who sung on ICED EARTH‘s self-titled debut album from 1990. It is dedicated to Richard Bateman, the band’s original bass player, who passed away right before the EP went into production.

Produced and mixed by Jon Schaffer and Jim Morris and mastered by Zeuss, all five tracks featured on the EP perfectly capture the spirit of the mid 1980’s with a powerful production, rounded up by liner notes or comments of Jon Schaffer, Gene Adam, Greg Seymour and Bill Owen and a fitting cover artwork by David Newman Stump and Roy Young, known from their work on ICED EARTH‘s latest album Incorruptible.

Purgatory - Purgatory (EP)


01. In Your Dreams (4:55)
02. Dracula (6:08)
03. In Jason’s Mind (5:03)
04. Jack (4:00)
05. Burning Oasis (5:38)

Jon Schaffer’s PURGARORY is:

Jon Schaffer – Rhythm & Lead Guitars, Vocals
Gene Adam – Lead Vocals
Bill Owen – Lead Guitar

Guest appearances by:

Jim Morris – Lead Guitar
Ruben Drake – Bass Guitar
Mark Prator – Drums